Square Enix releases The Making of Tomb Raider feature film
[ 19 Mar 2019 ]
Square Enix is proud to present the feature length film The Making of a Tomb Raider with Clair Marie.
Shadow of the Tomb Raider Ray-Traced patch update
[ 19 Mar 2019 ]
Nixxes releases Shadow of the Tomb Raider patch featuring Nvidia's Ray-Traced Shadows and DLSS.
Tomb Raider Legends The Board Game on show at PAX EAST
[ 18 Mar 2019 ]
Square Enix has announced Tomb Raider Legends The Board Game will be on show at PAX.

Copyright 2004 www.jamaicaobserver.com

[ October 3rd 2004 ]

This year's Doctor Bird Awards lifetime achievement honouree is Jamaican born Steven E de Souza, whose body of work spans over 30 years of producing, directing and writing major blockbuster movies. De Souza's credits include the milestone action films Die Hard and 48 Hours as well as such hits as Commando, The Running Man, Ricochet, Die Hard 2 and The Flintstones. His most recent films are the suspense thriller Possessed, which he also directed, and last year's Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life.

According to Cheryl Ryman, board member of the Doctor Bird Awards Foundation, the awards ceremony this year would change in format somewhat from previous staging. "The difference this year is that we're focusing on a major lifetime achievement awardee," Ryman told the Sunday Observer. The fourth staging of the biennial Doctor Bird Awards in Film and Television will be held on Tuesday, November 2, at the Sovereign Palace Cineplex. It will take the form of an exclusive awards ceremony and the screening of one of the works of the distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

The event will be beamed live to a nationwide audience courtesy of CVM TV on the same day of the awards. A film and television reasoning featuring the works and thoughts of the awardee will take place on the morning of Sunday, October 31 at the Hilton Hotel. Ryman also disclosed that certificates of recognition will be given to five stalwarts in the Jamaican film and television industry.

The Doctor Bird Awards Foundations (DBAF) was established in 2000, and by 2001 was incorporated and fully operational. The DBAF completes the transition from a 25th Anniversary celebration initiative of Mediamix and its founder, Lennie Little-White in 1998 with the inaugural staging of the Doctor Bird Awards in film/TV. The Doctor Bird Awards remains the flagship project of the DBAF honouring the achievements of Jamaican sons and daughters who have distinguished themselves in this area.

A primary aim of these awards is to unearth and celebrate these super-achievers and their work for the benefit and encouragement to the local industry as well as the larger society. Previous DBAF Lifetime Achievement Awardees are Evan Jones, Martin Rennalls and Chris Blackwell.

Copyright (c) 2000 - 2019 Tomb Raider Chronicles
Copyright (c) 1996 - 2019 Square Enix Ltd.
Lara Croft and Tomb Raider are trademarks of Square Enix Ltd.
Twitter Facebook YouTube